The 2017 SHN Architecture & Design Awards will begin accepting submissions September 5th. Winners will be announced mid-December.

Click here to join the SHN Architecture & Design Awards Mailing List.

How much does it cost to submit my project?

Each submission is $450 and is paid using any major credit card through our form. Student entries are free.

Other questions?

Contact us at [email protected]

Can I see a sample of a winning project submission?

Yes, you can see these sample PDFs of previously submitted projects as a good example of what judges are looking for overall.  Entrants have the option (not required) of putting a PDF/PPT presentation summary of the project based upon the individual components as part of the submission to present that entry in an cohesive manner.

Wellbrooke of Westfield

True North at North Hill

What is the judging criteria?

The SHN Awards for Architecture and Design will be awarded to the communities based upon the following criteria:

Design & Aesthetics – Judges will evaluate the functionality of the community looking at features that are critical to the property type such as universal design techniques as well as design elements such as color, light, landscape architecture and overall creativity of the community’s design vision and sustainable features

Community Integration – Judges will evaluate the effectiveness of how the community is positioned within the overall community with focus on features that promote access to transportation and other community based services

Amenities & Lifestyle – Judges will evaluate the community’s features that incorporate a healthy lifestyle that provides residents access to products and services that make their lives easier.

How will the projects be judged?

The projects will be judged by our group of expert panelists on the design and functionality of the buildings. The most innovative communities will be chosen as the winners and receive recognition throughout the industry using SHN. More details on process below.

Who will choose the winners?

The winners will be chosen by our expert team of judges. Please note that any judge who was involved with a project submitted will not be able to cast a vote for that particular project and a representative from SHN will take their place.

What do I receive after I submit my project?

You will receive an email from us confirming your submission as well as SHN Design Awards Nominee Badges that can be used for your website and other marketing collateral.

What information do I need to submit?

Fill out our form to describe the project and submit up to 10 high resolution photos or architectural renderings. Floor plans and site plans considered as separate documents from the 10 photos allotted per entry. If there are other items you’d like to submit, please contact us at [email protected]

When will the winners be announced?

The winners will be announced December 12, 2017 on Senior Housing News and later displayed on Senior Housing Design Awards and promoted on all the sites.

When do nominations close?

All nominations must be submitted by midnight on November 13, 2017.

Why should we apply?

All applicants will receive an SHN Awards Nominee Badge, recognition on Senior Housing News and our email distribution, as well as a mention in a press release that will be submitted nationally. In addition, all nominees and their pictures will be featured on the SHN Awards website for the remainder of the year.

SHN is recognized internationally as the best of the best in business publishing and information for senior housing and senior living.

In addition, winners will receive the following:

  • One feature story about each community and the team behind the development.
  • Recognition on Senior Housing News website and email.
  • Engraved Trophy for your community or company.
  • Exclusive online badge that can be displayed on your website.

Who Can Apply?

Any senior living community that fits into one of the categories below that was constructed/renovated and completed from January 1st 2016 to present day. Prior submissions should not be resubmitted from previous years.

Projects completed after November 1, 2017 that do not have photographs, site plans, or floor plans, please consider applying to the 2018 Architecture & Design Awards.


  • New Independent Living
  • New Assisted Living
  • New Skilled Nursing / Post Acute Care
  • New Continuing Care Retirement Community (CCRC)
  • Renovation / Repositioning
  • Stand Alone Memory Care
  • Affordable Housing
  • Student Exhibition—Interior Design Challenge
  • Student Exhibition—Independent Living Design
  • International